Evaluating CodeRabbit? Same review, plus real test runs. See why

API Testing19 min readUpdated August 29, 2026

10 Best Postman Alternatives for API Testing in 2026

S
Technical Writer, Qodex
10 Best Postman Alternatives for API Testing in 2026
Part of our API Testing guide. Read the guide

The Postman alternatives worth your time in 2026 fall into four groups: local Git-native clients (Bruno, Yaak, Insomnia), a browser client you can self-host (Hoppscotch), editor and terminal tools (Thunder Client, HTTPie, Hurl), and automated testing platforms (Qodex) for when nobody writes the tests. Every price and license below came off the vendor's own page on 29 August 2026. Where a vendor publishes no number, this guide says so instead of guessing. You can also see how Qodex compares to every major QA and API tool.

Quick answer: choose by job

Start from the job, not the tool list.

  • Desktop client: Bruno. Free core, Pro $6 per user per month annual, native Git integration.

  • Browser, nothing installed: Hoppscotch. MIT, free covers unlimited workspaces, collections and requests.

  • Inside VS Code: Thunder Client. Free allows one local collection run a month, so plan on Starter at $3.

  • CLI and CI: Hurl. Apache 2.0, plain-text test files, JUnit, TAP and HTML reports.

  • Git-native offline work: Yaak. Local-only data, no account, plain files Git syncs. $79 a year commercial.

  • Team collaboration: Insomnia. Free Git Sync for three users, Pro $12 per user per month, free CLI and CI.

  • Automated API testing: Qodex. It writes and runs the tests rather than giving you a window to send requests from.

  • SOAP: SoapUI. The Open Source edition still covers it; ReadyAPI publishes no price.

  • gRPC: Kreya, or Yaak and Insomnia if you need REST and GraphQL too.

Two of those cost nothing and one starts at $1,299 a month, which is the point. "Postman alternative" hides two questions: a cheaper window to send requests from, or no window at all because the work you resented was writing the tests.

What changed in Postman

Prices first, because that is what starts most of these searches. On 29 August 2026 Postman publishes Solo at $9 a month, Team at $19 per user per month and Enterprise at $49 per user per month, billed annually, with 50 AI credits a month on free. Unchanged since July.

What it does not publish is the part a comparison needs: no user cap, no collection cap, no numeric runner limit. Native Git is listed. Local-only storage is not mentioned either way. So if your question is "how many collections before I pay", Postman's page will not answer it, and neither will this guide.

What a team gains by leaving: a license it can read, storage it controls, and in six cases here a bill of zero. What it loses: the shared workspace everyone knows, and every script written against Postman's scripting API. Only Apidog's page says an import carries scripts. Everywhere else, scripts are what you rebuild by hand.

Postman alternatives at a glance

ToolLicensePaid priceFree limitsOffline or local-firstGit-nativeCLI and CIGraphQL, gRPC
Postman (baseline)Not publishedSolo $9/mo; Team $19/user/mo; Enterprise $49/user/mo, annual50 AI credits/mo; user, collection, run caps not publishedNot publishedNative Git listedPostman CLI; CI not publishedNot published
BrunoCore called open source; license not namedPro $6, Ultimate $11 per user/mo, annualUnlimited runner; caps not publishedNot publishedNative Git integrationNot publishedBoth yes
YaakSource MIT; binary has separate terms$79/yr or $349 once; Business $149/user/yr30-day trial; limits not publishedLocal-only, offline, no accountPlain files, Git syncFull CLI; CI not publishedBoth yes
InsomniaSource Apache 2.0; cloud separatePro $12, Enterprise $45 per user/mo, annualGit Sync 3 users; unlimited runs, projectsScratch Pad, local projectsNative Git SyncInso CLI and CI, freeBoth yes
HoppscotchMIT; cloud separateOrganization $6/user/mo, annualUnlimited workspaces, collections, requestsPWA offline; local or cloud sessionsNot publishedCLI yes; CI not publishedGraphQL yes; gRPC not published
Thunder ClientNot publishedStarter $3, Business $7, Enterprise $16 per user/mo, annual1 local collection run/moLocal collections; Enterprise offlineGit Sync listed; plan unclearCLI and CI from StarterGraphQL not published; gRPC from Starter
HTTPieNot publishedNot published; pricing page 404Not publishedCLI --offline prints requestsNot publishedCLI yes; CI not publishedNot published
HurlApache 2.0No paid plan publishedNo caps publishedLocal CLI, plain-text filesNot publishedCLI, CI, JUnit and HTML reportsGraphQL yes; gRPC not published
KreyaNot publishedAmounts not published; 10-day trialFree for individuals; limits not publishedEnterprise offline licenseNot publishedNot publishedBoth yes
TestfullyFree plan licensed for commercial useTeam $14, Enterprise $29 per user/mo, annual5 users/workspace; 1 offline, 1 cloud workspace; unlimited runnerOffline workspacePaid Git, offline workspacesTestfully CLI; CI not publishedNot published
QodexNot publishedStartup from $1,299/project/mo; Scale from $2,50025 scenarios, 100 runs/mo, 1 repoNot publishedNot publishedCLI listed; CI from StartupGraphQL yes; gRPC not published
ApidogNot publishedNot published4 users; unlimited calls, runs, projectsLocal Offline SpaceBidirectional Git syncCLI and CI/CDBoth yes
RequestlyNot publishedPro $12/user/mo, monthly setting10 collaborators, 3 projects, unlimited collections, 100 runsUnlimited local projects, files on diskGit-native collaborationCLI runs collections in CIBoth yes
RapidAPI for MacSoftware license; terms not publishedTeams licenses named without amountsFree for personal and professional useLocal save or Studio syncNot publishedNot publishedNot published
SoapUI, ReadyAPIOpen Source edition; license not namedReadyAPI not published; contact salesNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedMaven plugin runs in CINot published
cURLcurl license, MIT-inspiredNo paid planNo capsNot publishedNot publishedCommand line onlyNot published
KarateMITNo paid planNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Swagger UIApache 2.0; SwaggerHub separateNot published; page 404Not publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published

Checked 29 August 2026. "Not published" means the vendor's page did not state it that day, not that the feature is missing. Self-hosting and Postman import get their own sections below.

Free versus open source

Two different claims, mixed constantly. Open source is about the license on the code: you can read it, fork it, and nobody can change the terms on the copy you have. Free is about the price of a plan. A proprietary product can cost nothing, and an open-source project can sell you a cloud.

Open source, license confirmed: Hoppscotch and Karate are MIT. Insomnia, Hurl and Swagger UI are Apache 2.0. cURL uses the curl license, MIT-inspired but not identical. In three of those, the hosted product is a separate business: Insomnia's cloud plans, Hoppscotch's Organization plan and SwaggerHub sit beside the open-source project, not inside it.

Yaak is the interesting case. The source is MIT, but the prebuilt binary ships under separate personal and commercial terms, so commercial use costs $79 a year. Open source and free at work are not the same sentence.

Called open source, license not named: Bruno's pricing page calls the core open source without naming it, and its expected README returned 404 on 29 August 2026. SoapUI publishes an Open Source edition without naming the license. HTTPie's pricing page was a 404 too, so neither its license nor price is confirmed here.

Proprietary, with a free plan: Thunder Client allows one local collection run a month. Apidog takes four users. Testfully covers five per workspace, licensed for commercial use. Requestly gives ten collaborators and 100 runs. Qodex Individual is $0 with 25 scenarios and 100 runs a month. RapidAPI for Mac is free for personal and professional use.

Offline, local-first, Git-native and self-hosted are four different things

All four get sold as "your data stays yours". They mean different things once you are using them.

Offline means it works with no network, so you can test a service on a plane or in an air-gapped network. Yaak publishes offline use with no account, Hoppscotch is a PWA with offline support, Testfully has an offline workspace, Kreya an offline license on Enterprise, Thunder Client offline activation on Enterprise only. HTTPie's CLI has an --offline flag, but it prints the request instead of sending it: a debugging feature, not offline collections.

Local-first means the collection lives on your disk and any cloud is optional, so the work survives a cancelled subscription. Yaak keeps data local-only. Insomnia has a Scratch Pad and local projects. Requestly publishes unlimited local projects as files on disk. Apidog has an Offline Space. Thunder Client stores collections locally.

Git-native means the on-disk format is meant to be committed, so a changed request shows up in a pull request diff and two people editing one collection is a merge, not a phone call. Bruno publishes native Git integration, Insomnia Git Sync, Yaak plain-file Git sync, Apidog bidirectional Git sync, Requestly Git-native collaboration. Thunder Client lists it without a plan mapping.

Self-hosted means you run the server, so nothing leaves your network and someone owns the upgrades. Hoppscotch publishes self-hosting. Requestly offers it through sales. Apidog's Enterprise plan has a self-hosted runner, not the whole platform. Nobody else here publishes it, Postman included.

A desktop app is not self-hosted. A local file is not a Git workflow. And the license tells you nothing about any of the four.

The 10 best Postman alternatives in 2026

Grouped by what they replace, because a terminal runner and a team platform are not competing for the same slot. Where a fact block says "not published", the vendor's page did not state it on 29 August 2026. That usually means the detail sits in the docs, and it always means confirming it in a trial first.

1. Bruno

Bruno homepage, August 2026

Bruno keeps collections as files in a folder and shares them through Git. No workspace to join.

  • License: core called open source, license not named. The expected README returned 404 on 29 August 2026.

  • Price, 29 Aug 2026: Pro $6, Ultimate $11 per user per month, annual.

  • Free: unlimited collection runner. Caps not published.

  • Storage and Git: native Git integration. Local storage is not published, and Bruno's own pages do not repeat the offline claim it is known for.

  • Not published: self-hosting, Postman import, CLI and CI.

  • Protocols: GraphQL and gRPC.

Best for: teams that want API requests reviewed in a pull request, beside the code that changed them.

Watch out for: the importer, the CLI and the offline behaviour are all unpublished, and a migration runs on those three.

2. Yaak

Yaak homepage, August 2026

Yaak is the most explicit local-first client here: no account, offline use and local-only data, all stated on its own product page.

  • License: the source is MIT. The prebuilt binary ships under separate personal and commercial terms.

  • Price, 29 Aug 2026: $79 a year or $349 once, $149 per user per year for Business, 30-day trial.

  • Free: nothing beyond the trial.

  • Storage and Git: local-only, offline, no account, plain files synced with Git.

  • Postman import: yes.

  • CLI and CI: a full CLI. CI use and self-hosting not published.

  • Protocols: GraphQL and gRPC.

Best for: developers who want a desktop client whose data never touches a vendor's servers.

Watch out for: the MIT source does not make the download free at work. Commercial use is a license, and the only per-year bill here.

3. Insomnia

Insomnia homepage, August 2026

Insomnia, owned by Kong, is the closest thing to a like-for-like Postman swap: same GUI shape, same request-and-environment model, Apache 2.0 source.

  • License: the source is Apache 2.0. The cloud plans are a separate commercial product.

  • Price, 29 Aug 2026: Pro $12, Enterprise $45 per user per month, annual.

  • Free: Git Sync for three users, unlimited runs and projects. No overall user cap published.

  • Storage and Git: a local-only Scratch Pad plus local projects, or the cloud, with native Git Sync.

  • Postman import: not published, despite the reputation.

  • CLI and CI: Inso CLI and CI/CD, free. Self-hosting not published.

  • Protocols: GraphQL and gRPC.

Best for: a team that wants Postman's workflow with an open-source core and a free CLI. See our Insomnia vs Postman comparison.

Watch out for: free Git Sync stops at three users. The fourth moves the whole team to Pro at $12 per user per month.

4. Hoppscotch

Hoppscotch homepage, August 2026

Hoppscotch runs in the browser and installs nothing. It is the only tool here that publishes self-hosting as a plain feature.

  • License: MIT. The cloud plans are separate.

  • Price, 29 Aug 2026: Organization $6 per user per month, annual.

  • Free: unlimited workspaces, collections, requests and runs. User count not published.

  • Storage: sessions kept locally or in the cloud, with PWA offline support. Self-hosting yes, Git not published.

  • CLI and CI: a CLI. CI use and Postman import not published.

  • Protocols: GraphQL. gRPC not published.

Best for: teams wanting a shared client with no install, or whose rules say the tool runs on their own infrastructure.

Watch out for: self-hosting is a server you now patch and back up, and gRPC is not published.

5. Thunder Client

Thunder Client homepage, August 2026

Thunder Client lives inside VS Code, so the request sits next to the code that calls it.

  • License: not published.

  • Price, 29 Aug 2026: Starter $3, Business $7, Enterprise $16 per user per month, annual.

  • Free: one local collection run a month. Starter 250 per user per month, Business 500, Enterprise unlimited. CI/CD runs unlimited on paid plans.

  • Storage and Git: local collections, Enterprise-only offline activation, and Git Sync listed without a plan mapping.

  • CLI and CI: both from Starter. Postman import and self-hosting not published.

  • Protocols: gRPC from Starter. GraphQL not published.

Best for: VS Code users doing straightforward REST work.

Watch out for: one collection run a month is the entire free automation allowance. Run one weekly and you are on Starter from day one.

6. HTTPie

HTTPie homepage, August 2026

HTTPie is the terminal client people quote for readable syntax. http POST api.example.com name=John is the whole idea.

  • License: not published in the sources fetched for this guide.

  • Price, 29 Aug 2026: not published. The official pricing URL returned HTTP 404.

  • Free and storage: not published. The CLI has an --offline flag that prints a request instead of sending it.

  • CLI and CI: the CLI is confirmed by the official README. CI use not published.

  • Not published: Git, self-hosting, Postman import, protocol support.

Best for: ad-hoc requests from a terminal, where readable syntax beats a wall of cURL flags.

Watch out for: the pricing page was a 404 on 29 August 2026, so price, license and the desktop app are unconfirmed. An earlier version of this guide called all three free. Not repeating that without a source.

7. Hurl

Hurl homepage, August 2026

Hurl is not a client at all. You write requests and assertions in plain-text files, commit them, and a build runs them, like unit tests.

  • License: Apache 2.0.

  • Price, 29 Aug 2026: no paid vendor plan, no caps.

  • Storage and Git: local plain-text files run by a CLI. The project publishes no Git workflow of its own.

  • Postman import: not published. Budget a rewrite of the test layer.

  • CLI and CI: the README names CI/CD use plus JUnit, TAP, text and HTML reports.

  • Protocols: GraphQL. gRPC not published.

Best for: backend teams that want API checks in the pipeline and nothing to click.

Watch out for: no GUI, no published importer. Everything in Postman gets retyped: fine for 40 requests, a project for 400.

8. Kreya

Kreya homepage, August 2026

Kreya is the gRPC specialist: a desktop client that treats gRPC as first-class next to REST and GraphQL.

  • License: not published.

  • Price, 29 Aug 2026: Pro and Enterprise amounts not published. A 10-day paid trial, and Enterprise is flat-rate with unlimited users.

  • Free: free for individuals, numeric limits not published. An offline license is published for Enterprise.

  • Postman import: yes.

  • CLI and CI: the grid shows CLI and run entitlements without mapping them to plans. Git and self-hosting not published.

  • Protocols: GraphQL and gRPC.

Best for: microservice teams whose day is mostly gRPC and want a GUI for it.

Watch out for: you cannot budget from the website. Two of three plans publish no amount, so buying starts with an email.

9. Testfully

Testfully homepage, August 2026

Testfully is built around team API testing rather than exploration. Its free plan is the only one here licensed for commercial use.

  • License: free plan licensed for commercial use. Open-source status not published.

  • Price, 29 Aug 2026: Team $14, Enterprise $29 per user per month, annual.

  • Free: five users per workspace, one offline and one cloud workspace, unlimited runner executions.

  • Storage and Git: an offline workspace plus a cloud one, with Git for offline workspaces on paid plans.

  • Postman import: the page says "Postman compatibility", not direct collection import. Different promises.

  • CLI and CI: a Testfully CLI. CI use and self-hosting not published.

  • Protocols: not published.

Best for: small teams wanting shared API tests on a free tier that survives commercial use.

Watch out for: five users per workspace is the free ceiling, and "compatibility" is worth an email before you move a large workspace.

10. Qodex

Qodex homepage, August 2026

Qodex is an AI QA agent that writes and runs API, UI and security tests on every pull request, from your spec and your running app. It is not a request client: you do not compose requests by hand in it. It is here because "Postman alternative" is often a search for less manual work, not a different window.

  • License: not published.

  • Price, 29 Aug 2026: Startup from $1,299 per project per month, Scale from $2,500, Enterprise custom. Startup overage is $20 per 1,000 runs after 10,000. See Qodex pricing.

  • Free: Individual is $0 with 25 scenarios, 100 runs a month, one repository.

  • Storage and Git: not published. The agent works against pull requests.

  • Postman import: yes, collections and scenarios.

  • CLI and CI: a CLI is listed. CI/CD is absent on Individual, included from Startup. Self-hosting not published.

  • Protocols: GraphQL. gRPC not published.

Best for: teams whose API tests are a to-do rather than a suite, and whose incidents come from contract breaks nobody tested. See API testing, or start free against staging.

Watch out for: free to $1,299 per project per month is a steep step, and the unit is the project, not the seat. If you want a window to poke an endpoint in, one of the nine above is the better answer.

Beyond request clients: seven more tools people compare

These come up in every "Postman alternative" thread, usually because they solve a job Postman was never best at.

Apidog bundles API design, documentation and testing in one app, and is the tool most often named next to Bruno. Free takes four users with unlimited calls, runs and projects; paid amounts are not published. It publishes one-click Postman import covering collections, environments and scripts, bidirectional Git sync, a local Offline Space, CLI and CI/CD, and an Enterprise self-hosted runner. See API testing tools.

Requestly pairs an API client with request interception and mocking. Free covers ten collaborators, three team projects and 100 runs; Pro is $12 per user per month in the visible monthly setting. It publishes local projects as files on disk, Git-native collaboration, Postman import, a CLI that runs collections in CI, GraphQL and gRPC, and self-hosting through sales.

RapidAPI for Mac, formerly Paw, is a native Mac client. It states a software license without naming the terms, is free for personal and professional use, and names individual, volume and Teams licenses without amounts. Requests save locally or sync to RapidAPI Studio.

SoapUI and ReadyAPI are the answer when the requirement is SOAP. The Open Source edition is confirmed, though the exact license is not named in the sources checked. ReadyAPI publishes no price and routes you to sales, so the per-license figure this guide used to quote is gone. The SoapUI Maven plugin runs tests in CI such as Jenkins. See our SoapUI alternatives and ReadyAPI vs Postman.

cURL is already on the machine you deploy to, and the format every tool here exports to. Free and open source under the curl license, MIT-inspired but not identical. No collections, no assertions, which is why the rest of this list exists.

Karate is a test framework rather than a client: API tests live in your repository and a build runs them. MIT licensed, no paid vendor plan published. Java teams should read our Karate Labs alternatives guide.

Swagger UI renders an OpenAPI document as a page where you can fire requests at documented endpoints. Apache 2.0. Hosted SwaggerHub is separate and its pricing page returned a 404 on 29 August 2026. See Swagger alternatives if documentation is the real need.

Best by interface

  • Desktop app: Bruno, Yaak, Insomnia, Kreya, RapidAPI for Mac. Yaak local-only, Insomnia closest to Postman's layout, Kreya for gRPC.

  • Browser: Hoppscotch. MIT, self-hostable, unlimited collections and requests on free.

  • VS Code: Thunder Client. One local run a month free, 250 per user on Starter at $3.

  • Terminal: HTTPie for ad-hoc requests, Hurl for tests in CI, cURL for a box you just connected to.

Best by protocol and test depth

  • REST only: everything here handles it. Choose on license, price and interface.

  • GraphQL: Bruno, Yaak, Insomnia, Kreya, Hoppscotch, Apidog, Requestly, Hurl and Qodex.

  • gRPC: Bruno, Yaak, Insomnia, Kreya, Apidog and Requestly. Thunder Client adds it from Starter at $3. Hoppscotch, Hurl and Qodex do not.

  • SOAP: SoapUI, with ReadyAPI as the commercial edition. No other tool here publishes it.

  • Generated automation: Qodex writes the scenarios from your spec and running app. Karate and Hurl are the write-it-yourself version, run by CI.

Collaboration and limits

Where free plans stop being free.

  • Insomnia: free Git Sync for three users, unlimited runs and projects. Pro $12, Enterprise $45 per user per month.

  • Requestly: free is ten collaborators, three team projects, 100 runs. Pro at $12 lifts all three.

  • Testfully: free is five users per workspace. Team $14, Enterprise $29 per user per month.

  • Apidog: free is four users, unlimited calls, runs and projects. Paid amounts not published.

  • Hoppscotch: free is unlimited workspaces, collections, requests and runs, user count not published. Organization $6 per user per month, or self-host.

  • Thunder Client: free is one local run a month. Starter $3 gives 250 per user, Business $7 gives 500, Enterprise $16 unlimited.

  • Bruno, Yaak, Kreya, Postman: no user caps published. Bruno $6 and $11 per user per month, Yaak Business $149 per user per year, Kreya Enterprise flat-rate, Postman Team $19 per user per month.

  • Qodex: Individual is one repository, 25 scenarios and 100 runs a month. Startup starts at $1,299 per project per month.

Two billing units hide in that list. Per user means the bill grows with headcount, which is what made Postman expensive for the teams reading this. Per project, as Qodex bills, and flat-rate, as Kreya Enterprise does, do not. At thirty people that beats any feature here.

Migrating your Postman collections

An importer is not a migration. Requests move. The layer you built, the scripts and assertions, does not.

ToolWhat the vendor publishesCollectionsEnvironmentsScriptsAssertions
ApidogOne-click importYesYesYesNot published
QodexCollections and scenariosYesNot publishedNot publishedThe agent writes new ones
RequestlyPostman importYesNot publishedNot publishedNot published
YaakPostman importYesNot publishedNot publishedNot published
KreyaPostman importYesNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Testfully"Compatibility", not an importerNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published

Insomnia, Bruno, Hoppscotch, Thunder Client and HTTPie all have a reputation for importing Postman collections. None published it on the pages checked. That is not evidence the importers are gone, it is a reason to test one before you commit to a date.

  1. Export properly. Collection v2.1 JSON, and export environments separately. They are not in the collection file.

  2. Count what you are moving. Collections, requests, environments, and how many requests carry a script or a test block. That last number is your estimate, not the request count.

  3. Import the messiest collection first. You want the failure early, while switching is still cheap.

  4. Re-enter every secret by hand. Tokens and keys from a Postman environment should not land in a file you commit. Check where the new tool stores them.

  5. Rebuild scripts and assertions. Only Apidog publishes that scripts come across. Everywhere else it is a rewrite, and where the week goes.

  6. Run both for a week. Same requests, same responses, same failures. Then cancel the Postman seats.

How to choose

Five questions. Each answer gives two candidates to trial in an afternoon.

QuestionOne answerThe other
Manual or automated?Manual: Bruno or InsomniaAutomated: Hurl or Qodex
Local or shared?Local: Yaak or BrunoShared: Insomnia or Requestly
Git or cloud?Git: Bruno or ApidogCloud: Hoppscotch or Testfully
Which interface?Desktop: Yaak or InsomniaBrowser or editor: Hoppscotch or Thunder Client
Which protocols?REST and GraphQL: Hoppscotch or InsomniagRPC: Kreya or Yaak. SOAP: SoapUI

Solo or team. Alone, every tool here has a free plan you can work in. Ten people changes it: Insomnia's free Git Sync stops at three, Apidog at four, Testfully at five per workspace, Requestly at ten.

Collection scale. Under a hundred requests, migration is an afternoon and you can pick on taste. Over a thousand, with scripts, the importer matters more than the interface, and only Apidog publishes one.

CI use. Insomnia includes Inso CLI and CI free. Hurl exists for it. Thunder Client puts both behind Starter at $3. Qodex includes CI from Startup, not Individual.

If you want a test platform rather than a client, start from our API testing tools comparison. If browser coverage is the other half of the problem, see BrowserStack alternatives.


Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best free alternative to Postman?

Hoppscotch, for a manual client: MIT, with unlimited workspaces, collections and requests on free. For tests in CI, Hurl is Apache 2.0 with no vendor plan. For automated tests, Qodex Individual is $0 with 25 scenarios and 100 runs a month.

Is Insomnia better than Postman?

Cheaper and more open, not categorically better. The source is Apache 2.0, Pro is $12 per user per month against Postman's $19 for Team, and Inso CLI plus CI are free where Postman publishes no CI support. Postman has the larger ecosystem. If your objection is price or licensing, Insomnia answers it.

Can I import Postman collections into other tools, and what survives?

Yaak, Kreya, Requestly, Apidog and Qodex publish Postman import. Only Apidog says it carries environments and scripts too. Everywhere else, assume requests and folders arrive and scripts and assertions get rebuilt. Insomnia, Bruno, Hoppscotch, Thunder Client and HTTPie publish none, so verify with your largest collection first.

What is the best Postman alternative for CI/CD and the command line?

Hurl: plain-text files in your repository, a CLI, and JUnit, TAP, text and HTML reports named in its README. Insomnia is the alternative if you want a GUI, since Inso CLI and CI are free there. Requestly's CLI runs collections in CI. Thunder Client puts both behind Starter at $3. Qodex includes CI from Startup.

Are there any Postman alternatives that work offline?

Yaak publishes offline use with no account and local-only data. Hoppscotch is a PWA with offline support. Testfully gives one offline workspace free. Kreya publishes an offline license on Enterprise, Thunder Client offline activation on Enterprise. Bruno is widely described as offline-first, but its own pages did not say so on 29 August 2026.

What is the best open-source Postman alternative?

Hoppscotch under MIT, or Insomnia under Apache 2.0 for a desktop app. Hurl is Apache 2.0 for CI. Yaak's source is MIT, but the binary carries separate commercial terms, so commercial use is $79 a year. Bruno's page calls the core open source without naming the license, a step below on evidence.

Are there AI-powered Postman alternatives?

Yes, and they are a different category rather than a nicer client. Qodex writes and runs API, UI and security tests on every pull request from your spec and running app: Individual free at 25 scenarios and 100 runs a month, Startup from $1,299 per project per month. You do not compose requests by hand in it. For a request client with AI attached, that is Postman, with 50 AI credits a month free.

What about load testing or SOAP APIs?

For SOAP, SoapUI's Open Source edition covers it, with ReadyAPI as the commercial edition that publishes no price. For load testing, nothing here is the right tool: request clients and API test platforms check whether a response is correct, not what happens at ten thousand concurrent users.

Which Postman alternative can I self-host?

Hoppscotch is the only one here that publishes self-hosting as a plain feature. Requestly offers it through sales. Apidog's Enterprise plan has a self-hosted runner, which runs tests on your infrastructure but is not the platform. Nobody else publishes it, Postman included. And a local desktop client is not self-hosting: it keeps data on one laptop, not a shared server.

What is the best Postman alternative inside VS Code?

Thunder Client, the only editor-native option here. Free gives one local collection run a month; Starter at $3 per user per month raises that to 250 and adds the CLI, CI and gRPC. Collections are local. For the editor workflow without a per-seat bill, keep Hurl files in the repository.

Which alternatives support GraphQL and gRPC?

Bruno, Yaak, Insomnia, Kreya, Apidog and Requestly publish both. Hoppscotch, Hurl and Qodex publish GraphQL but not gRPC. Thunder Client publishes gRPC from Starter at $3 and not GraphQL. Postman's pricing page publishes neither, which says more about the page than the product.

How much does Postman cost in 2026, and what do teams get free elsewhere?

Solo is $9 a month, Team $19 per user per month, Enterprise $49 per user per month, billed annually, with 50 AI credits a month free. It publishes no user, collection or runner caps. Free team limits elsewhere are smaller but published: Insomnia three users on Git Sync, Apidog four, Testfully five per workspace, Requestly ten collaborators. Past those lines you pay $6 to $14 per user per month, still under Postman's Team price.

Ship continuously. Test continuously.

Qodex explores your app, writes runnable tests, and replays them on every change at zero LLM cost.