Evaluating CodeRabbit? Same review, plus real test runs. See why

Automation Testing16 min read

Snyk AI Code Review: Features, Pricing, Limits, and Alternatives

S
Technical Writer, Qodex
Snyk homepage, September 2026
Part of our AI QA guide. Read the guide

Snyk's AI-powered code review is Snyk Code: static application security testing, or SAST, with DeepCode AI as the detection engine and fix suggester. It finds vulnerabilities and some coding defects, compares findings before and after a pull request, and does not run your application or review product logic. Every price below was read on 2 September 2026.

This page is part of our AI testing guide. One naming note, because search results mix these up: Qodo (qodo.ai) is not Qodex (qodex.ai). Different companies, similar names, both below. The rest covers the Snyk AI-powered code review features, what Snyk costs, where static review stops, and 12 alternatives.

Quick answer: choose by constraint

The decision here is not usually Snyk or something else. Keep Snyk for security, add a reviewer for the rest, and replace it outright only when the ask was never security.

ConstraintPickOne line
Security-first gate on source codeSnyk CodeSAST with AI fixes; keep it for vulnerabilities.
Review plus executed API, UI and security checksQodexA QA agent, not a scanner; GitHub only.
Closest general AI PR reviewerCodeRabbitSummaries, inline comments and chat, four major hosts.
Multi-host governance or air-gapped enterpriseQodoBroadest host list; on-premises and air-gapped.
Self-managed or open-source quality gateSonarQubeServer and Community Build run on your hardware.
Monorepo with analyzers firstDeepSourceMonorepo support; AI review metered by lines.
One dashboard for quality, SAST, secrets and coverageCodacyCloud only; the free plan is an IDE plugin.
Free for one developer on private reposGreptile Starter$0, unlimited repos, 50 credits a month.
Lowest published reviewer seat priceBito$12 a seat annual, plus a $5 self-host add-on.
Already paying for CopilotGitHub Copilot code reviewNo new vendor; reviews spend AI credits.
Team lives in CursorCursor BugbotFinding-to-fix handoff; no rate card.
Stacked pull requests and a merge queueGraphiteGitHub only; unlimited AI review from $40.
Simple GitHub-only budget botCodeReviewBot10 free private reviews a month; unit unclear.

Korbit is not on the list because it shut down in September 2025. If a Korbit review stopped appearing on your pull requests, read our Korbit alternatives guide.

Snyk and 12 alternatives at a glance

Prices checked 2 September 2026. "Not offered" means the page does not sell it. For the wider category, see the best AI code review tools.

ToolReview approachGit hostsPaid start and unitFree plan or trialSelf-hostedBest forMain limit
Snyk Code (baseline)Security-first static analysis, AI fixesGitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure ReposTeam from $25 per contributing developer per monthFree $0, 200 Snyk Code tests a month, 5 projectsNo. Broker for private Git; Local Engine avoids uploadA security gate on every pull requestNot a reviewer for logic or intent
CodeRabbitAgentic diff review, repo contextFour majorsEssentials $24 per developer per month, annual14-day trial, no card; public repos freeEnterpriseThe closest general reviewer5 reviews per developer per hour; security from $72
QodexSix passes plus test runs against the previewGitHub onlyPro $30 per developer per month, 30 reviewed PRs per seatFree $0, 20 reviewed PRs a month, no cardEnterpriseA check meaning a reproduced failureGitHub only; needs a preview and scenarios
QodoReview plus organization rulesFour majors, Gerrit on EnterprisePro Team $30 for 2,500 pooled credits, $0.012 after14-day unlimited trial; qualified open source can applyOn-premises, air-gappedRules enforced org-wideCredits expire monthly, vary with PR size
SonarQubeDeterministic rules and gatesFour majorsCloud Team from $32 a month per instanceCloud free tier; Community Build freeYes: Server, Community BuildA gate you run yourselfNot conversational; cost scales with lines
DeepSourceAnalyzers plus a metered AI reviewFour majorsTeam $24 per user per month yearly; AI Review $8 per 10,000 lines14-day trial, $50 credit; Open Source plan freeEnterprise, air-gapped, own keyMonorepos, analyzers first"Unlimited reviews" excludes the AI review
CodacyQuality and security scanning, AI reviewerCloud GitHub, GitLab, BitbucketTeam from $18 per developer per month yearly, $21 monthlyDeveloper plan free but IDE only; 14-day trialNot offeredQuality, SAST, secrets and coverage in one placeCloud Git only; no PR review when free
GreptileRepository-graph review; TREX betaGitHub, GitLabPro $30 per seat with 50 credits, $1 afterStarter free for 1 developer, 50 creditsEnterprise: Docker, KubernetesWhole-repo context; solo private reposMetered credits; no official Bitbucket support found
BitoCodebase-indexed review in Git, IDE, CLIGitHub, GitLab, BitbucketTeam $12 per seat annual; 5,000 lines, then $5 per 1,00014-day Professional trial; no free plan$5 per seat on ProfessionalA priced self-host routeLines metered; cross-repo is Enterprise
GitHub Copilot code reviewNative review in the PR panelGitHub; Azure DevOps previewCopilot Pro $10 per user per month, $15 in AI creditsCopilot Free excludes code reviewNot offeredTeams already on CopilotComment reviews cannot block a merge
Cursor BugbotDiff review, handoff into CursorFour majors, Azure limitedUsage-based; Individual Pro $20, Teams $40 per userHobby free but does not list BugbotNot offeredTeams writing code in CursorNo published rate card
GraphiteAI review inside a stacked PR workflowGitHub onlyStarter $20 per user annual; Team $40 unlimited reviewsHobby $0, limited reviews; Team trialNot offeredTeams working in stacksUnlimited review starts at $40
CodeReviewBotGitHub bot with style guidesGitHub onlyTeam from $25 a month; per user or workspace unstatedPublic repos free; private personal 10 a monthEnterprise self-hosted or private cloudA small budget botUnclear unit; no language list

What Snyk's AI code review actually does

Snyk Code product page, August 2026

What it checks

Snyk Code is SAST for your own source code, and DeepCode AI is the technology behind it, not a second reviewer. The wider platform covers dependencies, containers, infrastructure as code, secrets, APIs and web apps.

The documented checks are narrower than "code review" suggests, and more specific. API misuse, null dereferences and type mismatches. Insecure functions. Dead code, and branches that are predefined or identical on both sides. Control flow, where race conditions surface. Source-to-sink data flow, which makes taint analysis work. Buffer overruns. Type inference. Off-by-one errors and division by zero. Hardcoded-secret rules run during a scan, but Snyk says they are not a standalone secrets scanner.

Snyk calls the approach hybrid AI: symbolic analysis, machine learning, and curated security knowledge. Snyk says fixes are pre-screened and 80 percent accurate in the IDE and in pull requests. That is a vendor claim, unbenchmarked.

What the pull request check does, and does not do

Snyk PR Checks run when a pull request opens. They test the before and after branches and fail only when the new branch has more issues, which stops existing debt blocking every change. The scan covers the entire repository, so a check can surface problems introduced since the last Snyk scan rather than by your diff. Snyk posts Passed or Failed, and that blocks a merge only when branch protection requires it; otherwise it is informational.

The docs call these "live tests" of the before and after branch. The phrase means two static scans, not a running application: Snyk Code does not drive browser journeys, exercise API scenarios or probe tenant boundaries in a pull request check. Dynamic API and web testing is a separate product, and the plans page points at Evo Continuous Offensive Security for architectural flaws and business-logic abuse.

The Remediation Agent is the current home of what was Agent Fix. It scans a project, builds a fix plan, applies dependency or SAST fixes, then rescans and can run existing application tests such as unit tests. It runs in the Snyk CLI with a model-provider key, or in Cursor, Claude, Gemini, Kiro, Codex, Windsurf and GitHub Copilot. Keep the distinction straight: the check is static analysis, and the agent can run tests you already wrote. Neither means Snyk writes and runs API or UI tests for you.

Pricing and free limits

Published list prices, not measured costs. Snyk prices the plans below per contributing developer.

PlanPublished price and unitSnyk Code allowanceOther limits
Free$0 per contributing developer per month200 tests a month5 projects
TeamFrom $25 per contributing developer per month1,000 tests a month100 projects
Ignite$1,260 a year; the published copy does not state a per-user unitUnlimitedUnlimited projects
EnterpriseCustom quoteCustom quoteUnlimited projects, enterprise controls

The number to plan around on the free tier is 200 Snyk Code tests a month, read from Snyk's plans page on 2 September 2026. Check your own usage page before you rely on it.

Languages, hosts, and deployment

Snyk Code supports Apex, C and C++, COBOL, Dart and Flutter, Go, Groovy, Java and Kotlin, JavaScript, C# and VB.NET, PHP, Python, Ruby, Rust, Scala, Swift and Objective-C, and TypeScript. Interfile analysis lets the engine follow a data flow across files rather than inside one. It is available for all of those supported languages except COBOL.

It runs in the Snyk web app, JetBrains, VS Code and Visual Studio, repository monitoring and pull request checks, the CLI and CI/CD, the REST API and Jira, across GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure Repos. Deployment is SaaS by default. Broker connects a self-hosted Git server Snyk cannot reach, and Local Engine analyses without uploading code. Neither is a self-hosted platform, and Snyk's docs say Local Engine "requires more maintenance and receives slower updates than the SaaS options". Two more limits: files over 4 MB are not bundled for cloud analysis, and .gitignore and .dcignore are honoured.

Snyk's Trust Center claims ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II and GDPR, encryption, regional residency, and that customer code is never used for AI training. Those are Snyk's claims, so pull the reports and check the scope. Every limit above is from Snyk's own documentation, not user sentiment: no usable independent complaint evidence turned up, so none is quoted.

Why teams look beyond Snyk for code review

The first reason is scope. A team wants comments about logic, design and intent, and Snyk Code does not do that job. It catches security defects and some control-flow bugs, and says so. A third-party review reaches the same boundary: Snyk is strongest as a developer-facing security layer, and threat modelling, abuse-case tests, runtime monitoring and human ownership of risk sit outside it.

The second is the pricing model: Snyk meters tests and counts contributing developers across the whole platform, so teams wanting a flat seat price for review, or a free plan for private repositories, look elsewhere. The third is deployment, since Local Engine is not a self-hosted platform and teams that want the analyser on their own hardware go to SonarQube.

The fourth is coverage, since a reviewer has to exist on the host and editor your team already uses. The fifth is evidence: some teams want a red check to mean a reproduced failure, which is a change of category, not of vendor. None of this makes Snyk bad at its job. Staying inside the security remit is the product, not a defect, and the setups below keep Snyk and add a reviewer beside it.

The 12 best Snyk alternatives for code review in 2026

Ordered from the closest general reviewers to the workflow-specific picks, with the tester's agent at number 2 because it is a different category.

1. CodeRabbit

CodeRabbit homepage, August 2026

The dedicated pull request reviewer: summaries, inline comments, one-click fixes, thread chat, learned team rules, linters and SAST tooling. The closest general reviewer to put beside Snyk.

Price and unit (checked 2 September 2026): Essentials $24 per developer per month annual, $30 monthly, the tier previously called Pro; Advanced $72. Public repositories are free, the 14-day trial needs no card, and there is no free private plan.

Four major hosts, plus IDE, CLI and MCP, with self-hosting on Enterprise. Two catches: 5 reviews per developer per hour on Essentials, and per-pull-request security review only from $72. More in our CodeRabbit alternatives guide.

2. Qodex

Qodex homepage, August 2026

The pick when a red check should mean a reproduced failure. Qodex is an AI QA agent, not an application-security platform: it does not replace Snyk's dependency, container, infrastructure or source-code scanning, and is not a like-for-like swap.

It runs six passes before a comment posts. More than a dozen deterministic analyzers per language, semgrep, gitleaks and osv-scanner among them. A full read of every changed file, with no size gate. A blast-radius pass over the code graph. Two frontier models from different labs, merged and tagged with which found what. Read-only, SSRF-guarded live probes against the preview. And a Check Run that can block the merge, set per repository in .qodex.yaml. Reviews are incremental, and the same agent can run your API, UI and security scenarios against that preview and attach the failing request, the response or a screenshot.

Price and unit (checked 2 September 2026): Free is $0 with 20 reviewed pull requests a month, 2 automatic reviews each, unlimited repositories and no card. Pro is $30 per developer per month with 30 reviewed pull requests per seat pooled and $1 per extra. A seat is a developer with 3 or more reviewed pull requests that month, Pro has a 14-day trial, and self-hosting is on Enterprise.

It installs as a GitHub App and works alongside Cursor, Claude Code, Codex, Copilot, Devin, the CLI and Slack. The limits are real: GitHub only, and the execution half needs a reachable preview and saved scenarios. Keep Snyk for scanning, add a reviewer for the rest, and see how Qodex reviews pull requests.

3. Qodo

Qodo homepage, August 2026

The pick when review has to be governed, not just performed: organization-wide rules with context across repositories and pull request history.

Price and unit (checked 2 September 2026): Pro Team $30 a month for 2,500 pooled credits, which Qodo estimates at about 18 reviews, then $0.012 per extra credit, up to 30 users. Bigger pull requests draw more credits, so treat 18 as a vendor estimate. The 14-day trial is unlimited, and qualified open-source projects can apply.

It adds Gerrit on Enterprise and deploys on-premises or air-gapped. Qodo is not open source, though its product descends from PR-Agent, and unused credits expire monthly. See our Qodo alternatives guide.

4. SonarQube

SonarQube homepage, August 2026

The answer when you want deterministic, auditable rules. It is quality and security analysis with gates on branches and pull requests, sold as Cloud, a self-managed Server, or the open-source Community Build.

Price and unit (checked 2 September 2026): Cloud Team starts at $32 a month per instance, and Server is priced by lines of code annually. SonarQube Cloud has a free tier, Community Build is free and open source, and paid plans have a 14-day trial.

Four hosts plus SonarQube for IDE, with rules across more than 30 languages. It is not a conversational reviewer, and cost scales with the codebase, not headcount.

5. DeepSource

DeepSource homepage, August 2026

The monorepo and analyzers-first choice, pairing static analysis, security scanning and Autofix with a metered AI review.

Price and unit (checked 2 September 2026): Team $24 per user per month yearly. AI Review sits on top, at $8 per 10,000 processed lines standard or $15 advanced, after a $100 annual credit per user. The 14-day trial includes $50 in AI credits, and the Open Source plan is free for public repositories.

All four major hosts, plus an API, webhooks, Slack and Jira, with self-hosted and air-gapped Enterprise, and a bring-your-own model key. DeepSource claims more than 5,000 deterministic rules behind the analyzers, its own number rather than a benchmark. Read the plan wording: "unlimited pull request reviews" covers the analyzers, not the metered AI review.

6. Codacy

Codacy homepage, August 2026

The single-dashboard option: code quality, SAST, dependency scanning, secrets and coverage in one cloud product, with an AI reviewer, merge gates and guardrails.

Price and unit (checked 2 September 2026): Team starts at $18 per developer per month yearly, $21 monthly. A seat is a developer committing to a connected private repository, the trial runs 14 days, and open-source projects are free.

Codacy's own claim for the dashboard is quality, SAST, dependencies, secrets and coverage across 49 languages. The free Developer plan is the thing to read twice: free forever, but an IDE plugin, not pull request review. Codacy is cloud Git only, so a self-hosted Git server rules it out.

7. Greptile

Greptile homepage, August 2026

The whole-repo context pick, and a free plan that works on a private repository for one developer. Greptile indexes the codebase into a graph and reviews each pull request against that, not the diff alone. TREX, its runtime validation mode, is in beta.

Price and unit (checked 2 September 2026): Pro $30 per seat per month with 50 credits per seat, then $1 each; a standard review costs 1 credit, a TREX review 3. Starter is free for one active developer with unlimited repositories and 50 credits a month, qualified open-source projects are free, and there is a 14-day Pro trial.

GitHub and GitLab only, no official Bitbucket, and findings hand off to a coding agent. Enterprise self-hosts on Docker or Kubernetes. See our Greptile alternatives guide.

8. Bito

Bito homepage, August 2026

The cheapest published seat among the dedicated reviewers here: a codebase-aware review agent for Git hosts, IDEs and the CLI, with custom rules.

Price and unit (checked 2 September 2026): Team $12 per seat per month annual, $15 monthly, including 5,000 reviewed lines per seat, then $5 per additional 1,000. The 14-day Professional trial needs no card, and there is no free plan.

Three hosts, plus VS Code, JetBrains, Cursor, Windsurf and the CLI. Self-hosting is a $5 per seat per month add-on on Professional, the clearest published self-host price here, with on-premises deployment on Enterprise. Model the line meter first. See our Bito alternatives guide.

9. GitHub Copilot code review

GitHub Copilot code review homepage, August 2026

The no-new-vendor option for a GitHub team already paying for Copilot. You request the reviewer from the pull request panel or run it automatically, and it suggests fixes.

Price and unit (checked 2 September 2026): Copilot Pro is $10 per user per month, including code review and $15 in monthly GitHub AI Credits. Copilot Free excludes code review, reviews spend credits, and from 1 June 2026 review workflows on private repositories also consume GitHub Actions minutes.

GitHub only, Azure DevOps in preview, no self-hosting. The limit that catches teams out: Copilot posts Comment reviews, so it can never approve or block a merge.

10. Cursor Bugbot

Cursor Bugbot homepage, August 2026

For teams already writing code in Cursor. Bugbot reviews pull requests for bugs, security issues and quality, then hands each finding to the editor for the fix.

Price and unit (checked 2 September 2026): Bugbot is billed on usage. That billing is available with Individual Pro at $20 a month and with Teams Standard at $40 per user per month. Hobby is free, but the pricing page does not list Bugbot in it.

Four hosts, Azure DevOps in limited availability, no self-hosting. The catch is budgeting: no fixed tariff for a review is published, so spend is measured after the fact. See our Cursor Bugbot alternatives comparison.

11. Graphite

Graphite homepage, August 2026

A different workflow rather than a deeper reviewer: a GitHub platform for stacked pull requests, with a review inbox, merge queue, CLI and AI Reviews inside it.

Price and unit (checked 2 September 2026): Starter $20 per user per month annual with limited AI Reviews; Team $40 with unlimited AI Reviews, automations and the merge queue. Hobby is free for personal repositories, also limited, and a Team trial exists with no published duration.

GitHub only, no self-hosting. Judge it on the stack workflow: without stacks, $40 a seat is more than cheaper reviewers charge. See our Graphite alternatives guide.

12. CodeReviewBot

CodeReviewBot homepage, August 2026

The small-budget bot, reviewing GitHub pull requests for bugs, security, performance and quality with configurable style guides.

Price and unit (checked 2 September 2026): Team starts at $25 a month. The page still does not say whether that is per user or per workspace, which is the first question for a sales email. Public repositories are free, private personal ones get 10 reviews a month, and the trial runs 30 days or 40 reviews.

GitHub only, with self-hosted or private-cloud Enterprise deployment. There is no published language list, so test it on your own stack during the trial. See our CodeReviewBot alternatives guide.

Migrating off Snyk Code, or adding a reviewer beside it

  1. Inventory which Snyk products you actually use. Replacing Snyk Code does not replace Snyk Open Source, Container, Infrastructure as Code, Secrets or API and Web.

  2. Record the current configuration first: severity thresholds, ignored issues and their reasons, policies, project scope, and how much baseline debt is suppressed.

  3. Run the old and new checks together for one release cycle. Compare unique valid findings, noise, added delay, and whether developers act on the comments. Never compare raw comment counts. Our guide on how to do code reviews using AI covers what to measure.

  4. Map the new status check into branch protection before removing Snyk's. A Snyk failure blocks a merge only when branch protection requires it, so this is a branch-protection change as much as a tooling one. See automated code review for how the gate should behave.

  5. Confirm every language and Git host on the new tool, then test the awkward cases: monorepos, files over 4 MB, generated code, ignored paths.

  6. Separate old debt from new issues so day one does not block every pull request. Gate on what the change introduces and work the backlog separately.

  7. If you are adding rather than replacing, keep Snyk where scanning is the job and scope the new tool to review only.

  8. Preserve an audit path: the finding, who suppressed it and why, the fix, the rescan, the merge status. Whoever asks about a vulnerability in six months wants that chain.

See also

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Snyk's AI-powered code review, and is DeepCode AI the same thing?

Snyk Code is the product you buy, and DeepCode AI is the technology behind it, not a second reviewer. Snyk Code is security-first static application security testing that reads source code without running it. DeepCode AI supplies the hybrid symbolic and machine-learning analysis and the fix suggestions.

What does Snyk Code detect, and can it find logic bugs?

API misuse, null dereferences, type mismatches, insecure functions, dead code, predefined or identical branches, race conditions from control-flow modelling, source-to-sink data flow, buffer overruns, off-by-one errors and division by zero. Real coding defects, in other words. It does not review product intent, architecture or business rules, and does not claim to.

Does Snyk run tests on pull requests?

Not in the way "tests" usually means. A pull request check runs two static security scans, before and after, and fails when the new branch has more issues. The separate Remediation Agent runs unit tests that already exist, after a fix. Dynamic testing of running APIs and web apps is a different product.

How much does Snyk Code cost, and what does the free plan include?

Free is $0 per contributing developer, with 200 Snyk Code tests a month and 5 projects. Team starts at $25 per contributing developer per month with 1,000 tests and 100 projects. Ignite is $1,260 a year, and the published copy does not state a per-user unit. Enterprise is a custom quote.

Which languages and Git hosts does Snyk Code support?

Apex, C and C++, COBOL, Dart and Flutter, Go, Groovy, Java and Kotlin, JavaScript, C# and VB.NET, PHP, Python, Ruby, Rust, Scala, Swift and Objective-C, and TypeScript. Hosts are GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure Repos, and it runs in JetBrains, VS Code, Visual Studio, the CLI, CI/CD, the REST API and Jira.

Can Snyk Code be self-hosted or run without uploading code?

Not fully. Snyk Broker connects a self-hosted Git server Snyk cannot reach from the internet, and Local Engine analyses without uploading your code, the option for strict upload policies. Neither is a self-hosted Snyk platform, and Snyk's docs warn Local Engine needs more maintenance and gets slower updates than SaaS.

Snyk or SonarQube?

Snyk if the job is developer-first application security across code, dependencies, containers and infrastructure. SonarQube if it is deterministic quality gates with auditable rules, or a self-managed or open-source route you control. They overlap on SAST and diverge elsewhere, which is why running both is a reasonable setup rather than a contradiction.

What is the best Snyk alternative for general pull request review, open source, or runtime testing?

CodeRabbit for a general reviewer across every major host. SonarQube Community Build if it has to be open source and self-managed. Greptile Starter for a free reviewer on a solo private repository. Qodex when the ask is review plus executed API, UI and security checks, kept beside Snyk rather than instead.

The short version

Keep Snyk if the job is vulnerabilities in source code. SonarQube, DeepSource and Codacy overlap Snyk Code on SAST, but nothing here replaces the wider Snyk platform: dependencies, containers, infrastructure as code and secrets. Add CodeRabbit or Qodo if the job is review comments about logic and design, or SonarQube if you want a deterministic gate you run yourself. If the missing layer is proof rather than opinion, Qodex reviews pull requests and runs tests against the preview, alongside Snyk's scanning rather than in place of it.

Ship continuously. Test continuously.

Qodex explores your app, writes runnable tests, and replays them on every change at zero LLM cost.